Academic Affairs Council MEETING MINUTES

Date:	Friday, November 5, 2021
Time:	10:45 AM
Place:	Microsoft Teams

I. Call to Order - Microsoft Teams

Scott Larkin called to order the regular meeting of the Academic Affairs Council at 10:45 a.m. on Friday, November 5, 2021, in Microsoft Teams.

II. Roll Call

The following council members were present: Dr. Sam Allen, Sherri Arrington, Jennifer Baine, Linda Bates, Benjamin Cagle, Dr. David Carty, Lillian Ellen, Shannon Forrest, Gary Hall, Caroline Hammond, Mandi Haynes, Scott Larkin, Brandy Mendoza, Dr. Cindy Meyer, Justin Murphree, Amanda Rhodes, Jim Roomsburg, Kelly Roper, Jennifer Schroeder, Phillip Shackleford, Susan Spicher, Mary Kate Sumner, Karsten Tidwell, Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez, Brooks Walthall, Ray Winiecki, Byron Winn and Dr. James Yates.

The following council members were excused: Vicki Badgley, and Dr. Justin Geurin.

The following guests attended the meeting: No Guests.

III. Approval of minutes from the previous meeting:

Philip Shackelford made a motion to approve the minutes of the council meeting held on Friday, October 1, 2021. Susan Spicher seconded the motion. The minutes were approved as written.

IV. Chair Information Sharing – Scott Larkin, Chair

- V. VPAA Information Sharing Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez
 - A. Commencement Ceremonies December 16th
 - i. Arts and Science & Career and Technical at 5pm
 - ii. Health Sciences at 7pm
 - B. Student Speaker nomination form sent out Graduating student with a TC/AAS
 - C. All Faculty meeting to be held on December 13th from 9am-10am, Library Auditorium

VI. Planning Council and Cabinet Updates

- A. No items were brought to cabinet as Action items from the September Planning Council.
- B. APM 1.10 changes were taken to Planning Council in October, and all items are being sent forward to Cabinet.

VII. Standing Committee Reports

A. Actions

i. <u>Academic Standards Committee</u> – *Jennifer Baine, Chair* 1. APM 1.10 Academic Standards Schedule and Membership

Vote: Motion was made to approve the updates to the APM 1.10 Academic Standards Committee. All Approved.

- ii. <u>Assessment Committee</u> *Kelly Roper, Chair* 1. No report.
- iii. <u>Curriculum Committee</u> Susan Spicher, Chair
 1. No Report.
- iv. <u>Academic Support Committee</u> *Amanda Rhodes, Chair* 1. No Report.
- v. Faculty Affairs Committee Lillian Ellen, Chair

1. APM 3.19 – Deletion of APM 3.19 Faculty Manual from the APM

Vote: Motion was made to approve the deletion of APM 3.19 Faculty Manual from the APM. All Approved.

- 2. APM 3.03a Academic Rank for Faculty
 - a. This is to encourage us to recognize faculty's years of experience in other establishments of higher learning, as well as their years at SouthArk.
 - b. Changes include
 - i. FROM: Only years of full-time teaching at South Arkansas Community College, not previous experience at other colleges, will count towards advancement in rank.
 - ii. TO: Years of full-time teaching at South Arkansas Community College and previous full-time teaching experience at other colleges will count towards advancement in rank.

Vote: With discussion, Lillian Ellen decided to motion to update the suggested change to include "full-time teaching" before experience. Dr. Sam Allen seconded. All approved. Motion was made to approve the updates to APM 3.03a for Academic Rank for Faculty. All Approved.

B. Discussions

- i. Academic Standards Committee Jennifer Baine, Chair
 - 1. No Report
- ii. <u>Assessment Committee</u> *Kelly Roper, Chair* 1. No Report.
- iii. <u>Curriculum Committee</u> Susan Spicher, Chair
 - 1. Curriculum Review Approval Timeline
 - 2. Procedures for Curriculum Changes/Updates Flow Chart
 - 3. Internal Review Curriculum Edits (Procedures & Form)
 - 4. Curriculum Change form for New Courses, Updates, Deletions
 - 5. Curriculum form for new programs, degree & certificate New/changes/updates
- iv. <u>Academic Support Committee</u> *Amanda Rhodes, Chair* 1. No Report.
- v. <u>Faculty Affairs Committee</u> *Lillian Ellen, Chair* 1. No Report.

C. Announcements

- i. <u>Academic Standards Committee</u> Jennifer Baine, Chair
 - 1. No Report
- ii. Assessment Committee Kelly Roper, Chair
 - 1. We will have open computer labs that will be staffed with help from assessment committee members in Whitfield 101 and 102 during the following times:
 - a. Monday, December 13 from 10am -12pm and 1pm to 5pm
 - b. Tuesday, December 14 from 8am-12pm and 1pm to 5pm
 - i. Genevieve White will be available in HSC 272 on Tuesday, December 14th 8a-12p and 1:30p-5p
 - 2. Wednesday, December 15 from 8am-12pm and 1pm to 5pm
- iii. <u>Curriculum Committee</u> Susan Spicher, Chair
 - 1. Curriculum Committee is ready to begin accepting curriculum proposals. Updated forms must be used. We will have them posted on the U drive for easy access.
- iv. Academic Support Committee Amanda Rhodes, Chair

- 1. Student Preparation and Online Training for Success (SPOTS) Taskforce -The committee has created a taskforce to review the process by which incoming South Ark students are trained and acclimated via both online and in-person courses or training. The taskforce membership has been confirmed and a blackboard course shell has been created for them to begin reviewing the existing structures in place to train our students. The taskforce will meet soon to begin discussing the next steps.
- 2. IREPO Grant The two positions listed as a part of the IREPO Grant have been posted and the hiring committee is in the process of reviewing applications.
- v. <u>Faculty Affairs Committee</u> *Lillian Ellen, Chair* 1. No Report.

VIII. Announcements

A. Welding Instructor is needed. Part-time position for the rest of the semester.

IX. Adjourn

A motion to adjourn was made by Ray Winiecki, and seconded by Caroline Hammond. The meeting was adjourned at 11:45 a.m.

Prepared by: Mary Kate Sumner