Academic Standards Committee Meeting

March 19, 2021

Those present: Vicki Badgley, Jennifer Baine, Scott Larkin, Pamela Teague, Garrett Trussell, and Susanne Wache.

Call to order: 11:10am

First, the committee unanimously approved the February 19, 2021, minutes after hearing a motion to do so from Pamela Teague and a second by Jennifer Baine.

Next, Jennifer Baine brought a motion from the ad hoc syllabus committee calling for an APM change concerning the description of the master syllabus. Ms. Baine's motion reads, "On behalf of the Ad Hoc Syllabus Committee, I move we accept the changes to APM 3.06. Garrett Trussell then seconded the motion.

Subsequently, during discussion, the committee suggested document revision, changing all references to student learner outcomes to college learner outcomes, stating program directors as well as deans have oversight of course syllabi, and deleting the reference to a list concerning the yet to be developed guidelines for the course syllabus. After discussion and editing, the committee voted unanimously to accept the motion for the APM change so it could advance to the Academic Affairs Council for review.

Next, the committee discussed a minor change to APM 3.06 involving the college's grading scale. The change reads: "The same scale should be used by all sections of the same course." Vicki Badgley motioned to accept this change, the change to the master syllabus, Pamela Teague seconded, and the committee voted unanimously in favor.

Finally, the committee entertained a motion that originated with Math and English instructors and members of Student Services to change some language in the college catalogue concerning student placement. Jennifer Baine presented the motion which reads: "To improve accessibility, student success, and retention, multiple measures will be used to place students in gateway courses." Pamela Teague seconded the motion and the committee voted unanimously in favor, noting the need for quick approval by the Academic Affairs Council to have this catalogue change in place by the next academic year.

At 12:04pm, Jennifer Baine motioned to adjourn the meeting, Garrett Trussell seconded, and the committee voted its unanimous approval.