Planning Council

MEETING MINUTES

Date: Friday, February 23, 2018

Time: 10:45 a.m.

Place: ADM Board Room

I. Call to order

Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez called to order the regular meeting of the Planning Council at 10:48 a.m. on Friday, February 23, 2018 in the ADM Board Room.

II. Roll Call

The following council members were present: Dr. Ken Bridges, Dr. Jim Bullock, Quincie Deloach, Richard Dunlap, Keith Everett, Sherry Howard, Dean Inman, Ted James, Dr. Tim Kirk, Valerie Lewis, Casey Martin, Robert Norman, Kathy Reaves, Cynthia Reyna, Philip Shackelford, Heather Smith, Susan Spicher, Veronda Tatum, Carey Tucker, Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez, Vanessa Williams, Ray Winiecki, Dr. Derek Moore, and Dr. James Yates.

The following council members were excused: Peg Cole, Bernadette Hall, Caroline Hammond, Dr. Barbara Jones, and Dr. Carolyn Langston.

The following guests attended the meeting: Jonathan Harbour, and Mary Kate Sumner - Recorder

III. Approval of minutes from last meeting

Valerie Lewis made a motion to approve the minutes of the council meeting held on Friday, January 26, 2018. Susan Spicher seconded the motion. The minutes were approved as written.

IV. Actions/Discussion

- a. Academic Affairs Susan Spicher
 - i. Proposal to accept membership changes to the Assessment Committee based on the definitions of ex-officio and advisory members were approved by committee and are brought forth for council approval. (APM change form was submitted.)
 - ii. Proposal for an exception to committee structure According to Shared Governance APM 1.10, "The ex-officio member has all the privileges, including the right to vote, and may hold the office of secretary for the committee, but no higher office." The Assessment Committee would like to ask for an exception to this rule so that Vicki Badgley, who is ex-officio based on her role as an academic assessment coach, be allowed to remain Vice-Chair of the committee for 2017-2018.
 - iii. The following curriculum changes are proposed:
 - 1. Proposal To accept the proposed updates in name, course descriptions, and software changes to CSCI 2043 Web Design (new name CSCI 2043 Web Design 1).
 - 2. Proposal To accept the proposal for a new course CSCI 2533 Mobile Application Programming.
 - 3. Proposal To accept the proposed update to the SouthArk Catalog description for course CSCI 1113 Social Media.

- 4. Proposal To accept the proposed modifications and offering of Online version for course CHEM 1014/L College Chemistry Principles 1/Lab.
- 5. Proposal To accept the proposed modification and offering of Online version for course RESP 1001 Introduction to Respiratory Therapy.
- iv. Proposal To approve Revision of SouthArk Library Policy Manual. (APM change form has been submitted)

Moved to Cabinet: All proposals (listed above) brought forth by the Academic Affairs Council, were sent to Cabinet.

- b. Student Affairs Dean Inman
 - i. Student Medical Marijuana Policy (will be placed in Catalog location TBD).

Moved to Cabinet: The Student Medical Marijuana Policy was sent to Cabinet.

- c. Administrative Affairs Valerie Lewis
 - i. No report

V. Announcements

- a. <u>Academic Affairs</u> Susan Spicher
 - i. Where to find the Curriculum Change Form
 - 1. Curriculum Committee Folder in U:Drive New folder in U:Drive which contains the Request forms, Procedure handout, and the Approved Request Folder.
 - 2. Curriculum Committee Request Procedure Handout Standard Committee Procedure handout describes the Step-by-Step procedure for Deans, Directors, and Faculty to understand and follow in submitting a Request to Committee.
 - 3. Official Request Form in Word and Digital formatting Official Request Form in Word Doc and Digital/Fillable formatting is located in U:Drive committee folder.
- b. Student Affairs Dean Inman
 - i. Spring Fling March 12
 - 1. There will be a student vs. faculty/staff trivia contest.
 - 2. East Campus will have a Spring Fling coinciding with Weldathon on March 15.
 - ii. Legislative trip with students on March 13th.
 - iii. SouthArk on tour on March 17th.
 - iv. Student Recognition is on April 19 at 7pm. Call for nominations will be sent out by email in the next few weeks.
- c. Administrative Affairs Valerie Lewis
 - i. Facilities, Energy, and Safety Committee: Elected new officers.
 - 1. Chair Ray Winiecki
 - 2. Vice-Chair Dr. James Yates
 - 3. Secretary Philip Shackelford
 - ii. Administrative Technology Advisory Committee: Elected new officers.
 - 1. Chair Charley Hankins
 - 2. Vice-Chair Kathy Reaves
 - 3. Secretary Nancy Whitmore.
- d. Others:
 - i. Introduced Dr. Derek Moore, VPSS
 - ii. SouthArk Literary Festival, April 13-14

- iii. Spring Lecture Series, Olympia LePoint, NASA space scientist, 7pm, with reception at 5:30pm.
- iv. Evening with the Stars: Thursday, April 12th, at Conference Center at 6:30pm. Honoring 2 Alumni: Kristi Lowery and Bruce Butterfield. Honoring a friend of the college: John Milam. Tickets will cost \$100, or \$75 if you are an alum, which is defined as taking one credit or non-credit class.
- v. Read-in with Barton Library for our Literacy Program, National Society of Leadership Success, on March 7th for Dr. Seuss' Birthday. Carey Tucker volunteered to read.
- vi. Thursday, March 22nd, Entergy will be installing a transformer on the Tech building. Internet and phones will be down the entire day.

VI. Comments

a. Next Planning Council Meeting will be March 30, 2018.

VII. Adjournment

A motion to adjourn was made by Richard Dunlap and seconded by Valerie Lewis. The meeting was adjourned at 11:08 a.m.

Minutes submitted by: Mary Kate Sumner