Slide background

About SouthArk

South Arkansas College offers over 40 degrees and certifications, with smaller
class sizes and faculty that are dedicated to student learning and your success.

Office of the President

South Arkansas College Announces Finalists for next president

The South Arkansas College Board is pleased to announce that its current search for a new president has resulted in three finalists, chosen from among 22 applicants. The finalists will be on campus April 9, 10, and 11, for a final round of interviews.  There will be an open forum for anyone interested in attending from 3:30-5:00 p.m. each of those days in the Mahony Family Library on campus.

The finalists include Dr. Tyrone Jackson, current president of Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead, Mississippi; Dr. Ted Lewis, current president and provost of Bluefield State University-Beckley in Beckley, WV; and Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez, interim president of South Arkansas College.

With an Ed.D. in Educational Administration from Delta State University, Dr. Tyrone Jackson currently serves as president of Mississippi Delta Community College (2019-present).  Prior to that position, he served in a variety of administrative roles at the following colleges in Mississippi:  Hinds Community College in Raymond (2013-2019), Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston (2008-2013), and Delta State University in Cleveland (1994-2008).

With a Ph.D. in Higher Education Administration and Community College Leadership from the University of Texas at Austin, Dr. Ted Lewis has served as president of Bluefield State University-Beckley in West Virginia since 2018. His prior positions include Vice President of Academic Affairs at Pellissippi Community College in Knoxville, TN (2012-2018); (Founding) Dean of Instruction at Lone Star College-CyFair in Cypress, TX (2003-2012); and Professor and Department Chair at Collin County Community College in Frisco, TX, (1990-2003).

Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez, who earned her Ph.D. in Biomedical Engineering from Louisiana Tech University, has served as the Interim President of South Arkansas College since August 2023; Vice President for Academic Affairs since April 2021; Interim Vice President for Student Affairs from September 2022 – June 2023; Associate Vice President for Institutional Planning and Academic Support from July 2019 – April 2021; Associate Vice President for Planning and Career Education from July 2018—July 2019; Associate Vice President for Workforce and Career Education from July 2017 (Interim until February 2018)– June 2018; Chief Institutional Effectiveness and Advancement Officer from July 2013 – July 2017; Director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness from September 2009 – June 2013; and National Science Foundation GK12 Grant Fellow at Louisiana Tech from 2007-2009.

Board Chair Steve Cousins stated that the Board plans to announce the new president by mid-May. The finalist selections resulted from a three-month long process conducted by a Search Committee made up of board members, faculty, staff, and community leaders.

Tyrone Jackson Photo
Dr. Tyrone Jackson

Dr. Ted A. Lewis Headshot
Dr. Ted Lewis

Tully Dartez Stephanie
Dr. Stephanie Tully-Dartez